Esteemed Contributor

I took my 91-year old DM to get her hair cut yesterday. I walked into her house and noticed that old folks smell. She was neat & tidy, her hair washed, as was her home, but it just had that smell. Though I'm sure she doesn't bathe every day.

Where in the world does that come from? And how can I get rid of it?

It's too embarrassing to say anything to my Mom!

Respected Contributor

Febreeze?

Super Contributor
I was a home care nurse for years and never noticed that smell in homes or on the person. seniors don't need to bathe more than 2 x a week..it dries their skin. Maybe it is her clothes? If she doesn't get them into the drier quickly enough. You can do detective work, find the source, and offer to help with whatever the problem is...seniors have loss of strength and other issues, but they don't get a smell. It is something specific that could just as easily come in a young person's home? I've found worse smells in my daughter's room than in any senior's home. Senior is the acceptable terminology these days, btw. "Old folks" has a negative sound, almost like "colored" for African Americans or "crippled" for disabled people. I'm sure you don't mean it, but terminology changes. Not being word police, it is the terms chosen by the groups themselves that we should respect.
Honored Contributor

I have noticed that smell in homes where the windows are not opened to allow fresh air inside. My grandmothers house had this smell, because she would only open her two bathroom windows, since they were too small for anyone to crawl through, and she would open her kitchen window through the day because you needed a ladder to get to it from the outside. Placing containers of ammonia or charcoal briquets throughout the house is a great way to absorb this type of stale odor, as well as using electronic air cleaners. Had I known about Don Aslett's X-O neutralizer back then, I would have used that to have gotten rid of the stale smell.

Super Contributor