Respected Contributor

Do the store items such as super smile, colgate optic white, crest white strips, peroxide pens and others, WORK FOR OLDER TEETH?

Valued Contributor

They do not have the strength of the Crest white strips that you may be able to purchase directly from your dentist.

If you don't need much in whitening, over the counter could be fine.  If you need more, your dentist would probably have the strength you need. 

I purchase mine from my dentist.

Contributor

I am no expert.  This is info my dentist told me.  How far whitening can occur is based on genetics.  The OTC items will not whiten to the extent the gel does from your dentist. You asked about "older teeth".  This is probably a good question to ask your dentist.  I believe there are several factors which come in to play.  You need to continue with whitening since things like coffee and red wine can continue to stain your teeth.

Respected Contributor

You will need to speak to your dentist.  Many years of stain can't be removed by toothpaste and Crest strips you purcase at a drug store.  It takes something more powerful.  Your teeth and any denture work will be restored to it natural color.  But it will certainly make a difference and it is worth it. 

Honored Contributor

@April-Rose wrote:

I am no expert.  This is info my dentist told me.  How far whitening can occur is based on genetics.  The OTC items will not whiten to the extent the gel does from your dentist. You asked about "older teeth".  This is probably a good question to ask your dentist.  I believe there are several factors which come in to play.  You need to continue with whitening since things like coffee and red wine can continue to stain your teeth.

@April-RoseThat's what my dentist told me as well.

Honored Contributor