Honored Contributor

Re: Started water aerobics today

In my 42 years as a practising nurse I've never ever heard a physician recommend an inversion table to anyone. 

It seems logical to me that being upside down and having blood rushing to the head - esp. in an older person could be a recipe for disaster - ie: stroke.

Honored Contributor

@151949 wrote:

In my 42 years as a practising nurse I've never ever heard a physician recommend an inversion table to anyone. 

It seems logical to me that being upside down and having blood rushing to the head - esp. in an older person could be a recipe for disaster - ie: stroke.

@151949

I tried to make your progress a friendly post, but it appears you want to tell me how much better you know my body than I do. Lived with it in it, not for 42 years, but 78 years. 

You obviously do not talk to Sports Med Doctors, which my Spinal Surgeon friend happens to be. Now he knows ALL of my medical history, not just the surgical area where he removed my L-3. He thinks me doing Inversion is great for me, and I'll take his personal knowledge of my body and physical fitness over you, and/or "those any doctors that do not recommend inversion to anyone".

Now I have been into physical fitness way longer than your 42 nursing career, and I learned more about exercises and physical fitness than most of the hundreds of nurses that have treated me during my weeks long hospital stays.  There was a reason many asked me how to improve their walking and running speeds for upcoming charitable events.

Going skating now, bye!

hckynut(john)

hckynut(john)
Respected Contributor

I currently do Jazzercize - which I love, but many of friends do water aerobics and have invited me to join them.  I may look into it.  It would be a good alternative (as I'd definitely continue Jazz).  I understand you can get a good workout.  

Thanks for posting this.

Esteemed Contributor