Honored Contributor

Creutzfeldt-Jakob-Disease-Fact-Sheet

I got a call from a friend yesterday, she told me a mutual friend of ours was in the hospital, diagnosed with sporatic CJD.    I had heard about it before just as general information but dfidn't know how serious a disease it is.

He will be released from the hospital this week to hospice.

I saw him about 2 months ago, he was vital, working.   Lots of energy, he always has something to say, big personality.   He's 65 and in otherwise good health.

She told me his symptoms are the same as in the attached article but she didn't know exactly how he was diagnosed.   

Honored Contributor

I'm very sorry for your mutual friend @software. Very rare disease. While in school I studied it and was very intrigued. Do you know how he got the disease?

Honored Contributor

She didn't know that either.

If I get any details in the future I'll share.

I feel so bad for him, he was going to retire soon.

Respected Contributor

@software, that is dreadful.  I'm sorry that your friend is having to deal with this, and for what you are going through.

Contributor

I'm so very sorry for you. My dad passed away August 2016 from cjd and it was and still is devastating. His doctor put him in the hospital to run some tests to find out why he was

Suddenly stumbling and falling a lot. He was also having headaches and dizziness. He went in the hospital on a Wednesday and we found out 2 days later. He passed away at home 11 days after that. He went down hill so fast we couldn't believe it. Just 2 days after we brought him home he could no longer eat, swallowing medication for his trembling was nearly impossible. We would dissolve his pills with water and use an eye dropper to

Get it in him. Even that made him choke. He couldn't talk after 3 days at home and went blind shortly after. We don't know if he knew what was happening to him because his brain was quickly being destroyed by prions. I thank God his doctor suspected it was cjd.