Regular Contributor

I recently participated in an at home sleep stud and was diagnosed with sleep apnea. A message from PC says he will contact Medicare regarding disgnosis and treatment. I have been using a custom mandibular appliance for a least 10 years which I will discontinue. I am seeking advice and information regarding CPAP machines covered by Medicare. Personal recommendations of what to avoid and what is useful. Assuming Medicare covers cost of basic? What to expect from Medicare? 

Super Contributor

I'm not sure about Medicare because my husband got his while still on his employer insurance.   We do get the supplies needed on Amazon. It was cheaper than getting through his insurance.  He definitelynsleeps better, I hope you will too.

Trusted Contributor

@Hilery I've been using a CPAP for 5 plus years as my ortho doctor referred me prior to my hip replacement.  I really do notice a difference in my sleep quality & my awareness during the day.  The machine itself plus the supplies have all been covered through Medicare plus my Plan F supplement.  During my last couple years of work I was having sleep issues & sorry now that I didn't pursue this sooner.  

Esteemed Contributor

@Hilery 

I have had 6 sleep studies, done in 3 different facilities, that was all they did at these places. And the nurses were trained specifically in how to attach all the connections. Each time that took the best part of an hour to hook me up.

Knowing how long and how many wires I was connected to each time! I am just curious how an "in home sleep study is done"!

My sleep studies were done for reasons other than Sleep Apnea, but. The results included that also in their findings.

My results--3 said I had Sleep Apnea, 3 said I did not. From my experiences, and seeing all the recording devices used in these Sleep Study facilities!  They must have improved immensely since I had my last one.