Respected Contributor

Sensitive issue regarding a coworker

I am an elementary school teacher and thankfully school is out and this issue is now on the back-burner until September when school starts again.. Here is the issue: A coworker apparently doesn't wear deodorant or if she does, it's certainly not working. It's hard to get within a few feet of her. Her clothes are clean and she's a very neat, nice person, with the exception of the underarm problem. No one wants to embarrass her or hurt her feelings by saying something. Is there a way of letting her know to please use deodorant. No one seems willing to say something..and I don't feel I can either. Any suggestions for this touchy subject?

Cinderella is proof that a new pair of shoes can change your life!
Honored Contributor

Re: Sensitive issue regarding a coworker

Your principal needs to speak up. The teacher may have an allergy to deodorants, and needs to see a doctor for help in that area if that is the case. But fellow teachers shouldn't be put in that position. Ask your principal to step up and tend to that. He/she may have to deal with that issue down the road from a parent re this teacher. JMHO

Contributor

Please contact your HR dept, or someone in a neutral position, that will allow you to address the issue anonymously. It will be a touchy subject to discuss no matter who brings it up , but coming from an HR person, it will lessen the awkwardness that comes up between the co-workers who interact on a regular basis.
Esteemed Contributor

This is not an uncommon issue in organizations. If it must be addressed, your HR department would be the appropriate source to address the issue with him/her.
Honored Contributor

The principal would be the best person to talk to her. When school starts again, when all the staff mtgs begin, before the kids come, your principal should talk to her.
“You can’t wait until life isn’t hard anymore to be happy”. (By Nightbirde, singer of the song, It’s Ok)