Super Contributor

Re: Plant Based - So Frustrated

No that has recently been proven wrong. Beans, legumes etc are complete sources of protein.  No combining required.

Valued Contributor

I cannot express strongly enough how much I appreciate everyone’s support. I really need it because this lifestyle does not come naturally to me YET. I’m still learning and gosh there is so much to learn. I will watch all videos suggested. Thanks for posting those. Last night I watched Dr McDougall’s video on anxiety and now that the shock has passed, I am going to continue this path and continue learning and researching. 

As @Trinity11 suggested I am going to discuss further with my doctor. I’m not ready to kick her to the curb right now @tsavorite Woman Happy and I will look for a nutritionist who can help.

So that’s my plan. Let’s see what happens with blood work in 6 months.

@tsavorite Thanks for prayers. Your numbers are awesome!!!!!

Sometimes the strength within you is not a big fiery flame for all to see. It is just a tiny spark that whispers ever so softly "You Got This - Keep Going"
Honored Contributor

[ Edited ]

@SandPiper wrote:

I am  transitioning to a plant based lifestyle. It’s about 2 months ago I made this decision. 

I had a routine doctors appointment yesterday (blood work a week ago). It is the first appointment since the transition. I was so excited because I know I have been doing good, I lost weight and feel great. The only thing I wanted to tell her is that I noticed I am having some hair loss.  

Well I almost fell on the floor when she told me my cholesterol was high and she wanted to start me on statins. I couldn’t believe it. She told me something I am eating is causing the problem. I told her about my lifestyle change. She totally did not support me (which surprised me) and told me I’m not getting enough protein (reason for hair loss) and I’m not eating right.