Honored Contributor

@software...I have a friend living in Florida, they own a condo...her DH is in a nursing home, he just went in about 6 weeks ago.....and she hired an elder attorney for $15,000.00 to do legal work so that she and her husbands assets are separated, in order to keep assets safe.

I really did not want to quiz her to much but she was pretty forthcoming about what was going on...I am not a fan of hiding money to get out of paying for care.  He will have his pension and social security which I am going to assume will go for his care. Her assets will not be touched.  The attorney assured her that he will make it happen. 

I was always under the assumption if your were going to move assets around it had to be done long before someone needed care.

Respected Contributor

@cater wrote:

I have been paying Penn Treaty the exact same amount since I took it out 14 years ago.

I had a policy too for about the same amount of time.  In the last couple of years that payment went up almost triple and I didn't think it was worth keeping.  All that money wasted.  Be sure and read the fine print.  I didn't think mine could go up either.  Do some research and you will find there are better ways to invest that money.  A lot of these insurance companies are not wanting to sell this insurance. 

Honored Contributor

I've looked into a couple of Catholic facilities if it gets to that point where I need palliative care and there is the option of at-home palliative care. 

Otherwie ... in our family we generally take care of one another. 

Honored Contributor

@noodleann wrote:

@chrystaltree wrote:

@cater wrote:

I have been paying Penn Treaty the exact same amount since I took it out 14 years ago.