Honored Contributor

Re: Ortho visit that has me steaming mad! What do you think?

pupwhipped,

Thank you so much for following up on this post. It is very gracious, and considerate of you.

You are absolutely correct that each of us needs to take an active role in our health care. We are our own best advocates, and as one MD told me, "the patient is h/her own best historical medical record." Know your medications, know what you can and can take with what medicine, know what you are allergic to, and ask questions. I am not saying it's an us / them situation, I work in health care, just saying we have an obligation to keep an eye on our own care. Example - even the best practitioner may not know what medication another person has prescribed for you unless he has access to your total medical record. Even then mistakes can be made. In January I had MOHS surgery, the MD told me to take Ibuprofen for any pain. However, I can't take Ibuprofen because it is counter indicated with another drug I take, and that drug was in my chart an on my intake record. I politely pointed this out to him and he looked like he swallowed a toad. Was he stupid? No, he just over looked it. It can happen, he was very sorry, I was not upset, never-the-less it goes to my point. We do need to step up even when it may not be our nature to do so.

Knees are bad pain, and make normal activity painful and difficult. I wish you all the best with yours.

"Animals are not my whole world, but they have made my world whole" ~ Roger Caras
Super Contributor

PA's are very well educated and take many of the same classes that MD's or DO's do. Your MD is probably the one that made the diagnosis based on your MRI. PA's often do follow-up and take care of less complicated issues for the practice. PA's are now a vital part of many group practices. I see nothing wrong with this. They add efficiency and can often spend more time with patients than the MD's or DO's can.

Valued Contributor