Respected Contributor

Nurses on the Front Line battling Covid

I just watched MSNBC interview a ICU Nurse who cares for Covid patients.  She lost her Father due to Covid and she talked about the stress they go through trying to save lives and stand in for families who cannot be with their loved ones who are dying from the virus.  She talked about going home after long shifts and crying while taking a shower. They are so stressed and overworked. My heart goes out to every nurse all over the world not leaving out the other medical workers (doctors,respiratory therapist, cna"s etc) who are working long hours and stressed out  while there are still those who refuse to wear a mask or who continue to have large gatherings like the 200 guest wedding in Naperville ILL just recently at a hotel (which I understand may be fined for allowing it to go on}. I am a retired nurse since 2016 and at my age I would not be able to work the hours they do to try to save lives from this horrible virus. As some have read my prior post, I lost my mom from Covid in April and she was a retired RN.  We all need to work together to irradicate this virus.  Thanks for letting me vent. Everyone please stay safe. 

Respected Contributor

Re: Nurses on the Front Line battling Covid

I'm so sorry for your loss. You will be in my thoughts and prayers. Be safe!

Respected Contributor

My nephew is a respiratory therapist, and battled Covid for over three weeks....so sick and running a 103.5 temp for days.  He went back to work last week ..because they desperately need him.  His hospital is at full occupancy.

All our hospital personnel are heroes through this terrible time.

Esteemed Contributor

I've very sorry you lost your mother to this virus, @Goodie2shoes.

It defies logic to me, how we are still in this place, the things I see in real life, and on tv.

And I do feel horribly for the nurses, and everyone in health care.

Respected Contributor

[ Edited ]