Contributor

My husband and in laws in denial about Alzheimer's

My mom in law is 79 years old and is on dialysis and has suffered many health problems. l Last year Mom began to forget our names; had no idea where she was, could not identify family members.....this week after dialysis she was very confused, developed a fever ; was admitted to the hospital with sepsis; tried to "escape " the hospital on her own....and yet despite all her symtoms my husband and family think she is going to "get better" and that her diabetes "is off" they say....I am a healthcare professional and I know she is not getting better. I have myself lost several family members at young ages. I am frustrated trying to keep up with their hop e that their mom as they will not accept she is dying from alzheimers.... its hard
Esteemed Contributor

Re: My husband and in laws in denial about Alzheimer's

I know it's hard and you are most likely correct, she will go down hill from here. The Docs probably want to clear up the sepsis and then see how her mental state is. Being "off" mentally is one of the first signs of sepsis we saw in nursing home patients.

Trying to make them see it will only make you the bad guy. Try to just be there for them and not say too much. I know that's hard, but IMO, it's really all you can/should do.

The Docs will approach them about stopping dialysis if they think there will be no more quality of life. I worked in a dialysis unit and have seen it happen many times.

It's God's job to judge the terrorists. It's our mission to arrange the meeting. U.S. Marines
Trusted Contributor

I think betteb gave you some excellent advice.

It's always a victory for me when I remember why I entered a room.
Respected Contributor