Honored Contributor
graceandmercy, I went to a 6 week course for diabetics, and then saw a registered dietician that told me based on my weight, height, and walking 30 minutes daily to eat 30-35 carbs per meal, and one afternoon snack of 10-15 carbs. My blood sugar reading goals she gave me are less than 140 two hours after meals, 120 or less fasting, 110 or less at bedtime. She told me a blood sugar reading of less than 75 should prompt me to eat 15 grams of carbs. I can and do eat a bedtime snack most of the time now of about 15 carbs. I have been doing this for the last 8 years. She also taught me portion sizes for protein and fats. I am suppose to read labels on everything and use those for my carb counts. So far, so good.
Esteemed Contributor
On 11/28/2014 Tissyanne said: graceandmercy, I went to a 6 week course for diabetics, and then saw a registered dietician that told me based on my weight, height, and walking 30 minutes daily to eat 30-35 carbs per meal, and one afternoon snack of 10-15 carbs. My blood sugar reading goals she gave me are less than 140 two hours after meals, 120 or less fasting, 110 or less at bedtime. She told me a blood sugar reading of less than 75 should prompt me to eat 15 grams of carbs. I can and do eat a bedtime snack most of the time now of about 15 carbs. I have been doing this for the last 8 years. She also taught me portion sizes for protein and fats. I am suppose to read labels on everything and use those for my carb counts. So far, so good.