Valued Contributor

MEDICATION BEFORE DENTAL PROCEDURES

I recently posted that I needed a root canal on a tooth.  After seeing the dentist I had two teeth that needed root canals due to an infection.  I had one root canal done through the tooth but the other one has to be done as a surgical procedure.

Has anyone that had knee replacement been told they have to have medication before any dental procedure.  My dentist said the rules have changed and it's 2 years.  I called my ortho doctor and they couldn't tell me.  Never called me back.  My dentist said she can prescribe one but wonders if I really need it.  I'm 5 years out on surgery.

I do have an allergy to penicillin and was given clindamycin which I won't take because of the side effects.  Anyone have any information that may be more up to date.

Valued Contributor

Re: MEDICATION BEFORE DENTAL PROCEDURES

I hesitate to advise you as I am not a doctor and would follow what your said. However, my daughter is a dental hygienist and stated the recommendation has changed in the past few years as my husband is always to take Amoxycillan (2000mg) before teeth cleanings as he had heart surgery and a valve replacement many years ago. His dentist is still  requiring that he take it. Since no side effects, he just does as better to be safe than sorry as they say. Good luck with this but again, your doctor should advise and also know which antibiotic is best and also tolerable for you.

Honored Contributor

I'm loaded with stainless steel......and my dentist goes the "better safe than sorry" route.     

♥Surface of the Sun♥
Honored Contributor

[ Edited ]

I had a knee replacement about 20 months ago and I take 1 large dose of antibiotics before going to the dentist for anything. My ortho told me to follow my dentist's advice. My dentist said I have to do this for 5 years after the knee replacement.  Maybe the rules changed and I don't know it yet.  Either way, I'm happy to be safe rather than sorry.