Trusted Contributor

Re: Looking for suggestions for healthy lo-cal, lo-fat, or fat free, low or no cholesterol snacks

@phoenixbrd Solid.

Honored Contributor

Re: Looking for suggestions for healthy lo-cal, lo-fat, or fat free, low or no cholesterol snacks

@KaySD   Thanks....I've been eating like this for many years constantly refining and reflecting.  Just got blood test results back...encouraged to keep doing what I'm doing!

Respected Contributor

@phoenixbrd   would love your hummus recipe.  I would like to make my own.  Love it with carrots, etc.   Thanks.

Honored Contributor

@nyc1   So simple and so good!  I don't make recipes, I have been making my food for so long and love to get creative in the kitchen, so I rarely measure anything.  It is so easy to meal plan with whole foods....it always comes out delicious!

I looked online for you to find a recipe similar to mine to give you measurement references, there are lots. Simnett Nutrition: Three Easy Oil Free Recipes on Y.T. listed the ingrediants with measurements and you can watch him make it on YT.

I generally make mine in the blender but a food processer would be great also. Another difference is I use Tasty Salt instead of regular salt...the taste is the same.  The aqua faba is just the juice from the can of chick peas and it makes your hummus creamy (instead of using oil). Tahini is a store staple at Trader Joe's and Whole Foods has a 365 Version.  If you want to get fancy you can add chopped kalamata olives or some pine nuts (an optional treat!).  I always sprinkle smoked paperika on top (just like potato salad)...besides looking festive it is yummy!

Let me know how you like it! There are few ingrediants and after the first time you will be a pro.  If I need a snack, it is perfect with crudites.  It's a staple in our fridge.

Simnett Nutrition -  Y.T. Three Easy Oil Free Hummus Recipies:

Basic recipe