Super Contributor

Hip Replacement Surgery (Anterior procedure)

[ Edited ]

I'm having this on Thursday 3/23, and looking for some anecdotal experiences from others who have been through it - what to expect, things you wish someone had told you beforehand,etc.  Thanks so much!

“There are two ways to be rich: One is by acquiring much, and the other is by desiring little.” —Jackie French Koller
Occasional Visitor

Re: Hip Replacement Surgery (Anterior procedure)

This is my first post and this is my niche.  I'm a registerd nurse and the orthopedic program manager at my hospital so I see joint replacement patients from pre-op thru 2 weeks post- op.  I have seen amazing results with our patients who have had a hip replacement thru the anterior approach.  As I'm sure u know there is a much less chance of dislocation and less pain because of less muscle cutting . Most of our patients leave the next day and some leave the same day.  The key to their success is attending a pre- op class and doing their pre-operative exercises . Every surgeon is different in their skills and pain control but most patients have been dealing with joint pain for so long that the incisional pain is tolerable. Hope this helps.  Good luck. 

Honored Contributor

@TeezNu  I have had both hips done this method. It was a wonderful experience for me. I went home in less than 24 hours.. very little discomfort, minimal down time. Up and walking with a cane for  only a week,  and  cane free by week two.  I had them done about 2 years ago and feel great! Pain free and enjoying life again! 

Super Contributor

[ Edited ]

@Bonecut  Thank you so much.  Yes, I have attended the pre-op class, and have been doing the pre-op exercises to the best of my ability, which is far less than what is recommended, due to the pain they cause.  Have been diligent with the foot pumps and arm raises from the chair, though.  Thanks for the positive encouragement - great first post!