Respected Contributor

Freestyle Libre Blood Glucose System

Does anyone use this to keep track of their blood sugar? I am new to using it and would appreciate any tips, especially keeping the sensor dry in shower. Thank you!
Respected Contributor

Re: Freestyle Libre Blood Glucose System

Honored Contributor

@MOMMAVik wrote:
Does anyone use this to keep track of their blood sugar? I am new to using it and would appreciate any tips, especially keeping the sensor dry in shower. Thank you!

I know someone who has it,

once it's on it's on, until you peel off to apply the new one

Frequent Contributor

@MOMMAVik 

Yes, I use it.  You don't have to keep it dry in the shower at all.  Just shower like you normally do.  I shower with it every day. But of course I soap around it not directly on it.  You really don't have to baby it too much.  I've knocked it walking through a door frame and it stayed in place.  My doctors office did give me some additional adhesive type stuff to use if for some reason it didn't stay on my arm.  But I haven't had that happen.  Just make sure you clean the area on your arm with the alcohol pads and that it is completely dry before you install it.  I do switch from one arm to the other each time, but its not necessary to do that.  But do try to not use the same injection site so it has time to heal since it does leave a tiny mark for a couple of days.  Once you do it for the first time it's a no biggie after that.  I was a little scared to plung it into my arm the very first time but it doesn't hurt.  Pricking your finger hurts way worst.

Feel free to ask me any other questions, happy to help!

Honored Contributor

@Pancho wrote:

@MOMMAVik