Valued Contributor

For those of you who need to take medicines with you

when you fly what is the requirements for taking an insulin pen and needle tops? This wll be my first flight and I need to take my meds onboard as I don't trust leaving them in checked luggage. I am nervous about flying as it is my first time. I also need to take a  couple other meds. They are in pill form.  Does anyone take something for extreme nervousness about flying?  Thanks   

Honored Contributor

Re: For those of you who need to take medicines with you

This link is to a TSA web page about diabetics and air travel: http://blog.tsa.gov/2014/04/tsa-travel-tips-travelers-with-diabetes.html

I don't have diabetes, but I have many asthma and allergy medications I take when I travel. I pack all my medications in my carry on bag or purse to make sure that I have them even if my luggage gets lost.

If you are nervous about flying, talk to your doctor about safe options to help calm you if you need them. I'm not a nervous flyer, but I don't drink or take anything that might make me hard to wake up on a plane because I want to be awake so people don't crawl over me trying to get to the restroom. I always try to sit in an aisle seat because I know I'll need to get up and use the restroom and least once and it's easier if I'm on the aisle.

Honored Contributor

@allaries wrote:

when you fly what is the requirements for taking an insulin pen and needle tops? This wll be my first flight and I need to take my meds onboard as I don't trust leaving them in checked luggage. I am nervous about flying as it is my first time. I also need to take a  couple other meds. They are in pill form.  Does anyone take something for extreme nervousness about flying?  Thanks   

@allaries

You should google "flying with medication" and read up on this.   Here's one link that could be helpful (see below).