Honored Contributor

Re: Fluid retention and swelling.

Trudey 

Does anyone know what tests are done to rule out Congestive Heart Failure?  I had a stress test last year (due to family history of heart disease) and everything was normal.

@Trudey

Not sure what type of Ultrasound your doctor ordered for you, but I can tell you there are different types. After my 2nd heart attack I was diagnosed with Congestive Heart Failure(CHF).

This was done by doing an Echocardiogram(also called Ultrasound by some). CHF is measured by what is called the Ejection Fraction. This is a measurement, which I studied and learned about when presented with my diagnosis of CHF. It measures the percentage(%) of blood that can be Ejected with each heart beat from the Left Ventricular of your heart.

Mine was considered a fairly mild form of CHF because my percentage was about 36%, and normal is about 60%. I went on a program for CHF which limited my fluid intake per day. It was a total of 64oz, that includes ALL fluids in a day. I also had to avoid all high water content foods, such as watermelon and other high liquid content.

That coupled with increasing my exercise time and effort, which did not bother me a bit. The 64oz of fluid was tough for me because as an athlete and working for close to 30 years in 100+ degree manufacturing plant, I always kept myself well hydrated with water mostly.

After 3 months my Ejection Fraction was up to 39%, still not high enough to suit my Cardiologist. Another 3 months/another Echocardiogram and my Ejection Fraction was up to almost 45%. My Cardiologist said he was satisfied and told me I heart could handle more fluid without having to overwork, thus enlarge it.