Super Contributor

Re: Fibromyalgia Sufferers...A Place to Meet

Nicecupoftea, Okiebug is correct about antidepressants helping fibromyalgia. I was a nurse practitioner before retiring. Wow...it is hard to believe that doctors and nurses in this day and age would not know why and how certain antidepressants help fibromyalgia. It is very common knowledge. Fibromyalgia is not a new condition.

The SNRI antidepressants raise the seratonin and noradrenaline levels in your body, thus helping dull the pain, aid sleep disturbances, and also help those who get the blues...which is common when someone has chronic pain.

If you cannot wear tight clothing and cannot stand anyone to grab or hug you, it sounds like you might benefit greatly from an antidepressant like Cymbalta, Savella, Pristiq, or Lyrica. They are approved by the FDA for treating fibromyalgia.

Many medications are used for several different purposes. The antidepressants are among them. Perhaps we should not call them antidepressants when prescribing them for fibromyalgia patients. Maybe calling them SNRI medications or fibromyalgia medications would be better so that patients are not turned off by the idea of taking one of them.

Some people do drugs. I do shoes....Celine Dion
Occasional Contributor

On 7/31/2014 Madisson said:

Hi Mishell5 and other Fibro Friends, Wow...as many of you know, I have been working my tail off preparing for guests the past few weeks. They arrived Tuesday afternoon (my two sisters and a niece). Then suddenly yesterday afternoon, my brother out in Philadelphia passed away of cardiac arrest. He was only 66. Thank G-d the rest of my immediate family was here with me when it happened. He suffered health problems from exposure to agent orange during the Viet Nam War. He had been on kidney dialysis the last couple years, but seemed to be doing so well. He just retired a year ago. We are all making plans to fly out to Philadelphia for his funeral.