Frequent Contributor

So, I am new to Yoga..my son got me interested.  I'm 59 with 2 knee replacements and some back issues.  I found some Youtube videos that are very good for people with knee issues.  Any other ideas for me?  I'd like to keep going with it because I'm really enjoying it.  The 2 videos I have been using have me on my back most of the time.  I'd like to do some standing as well.

I appreciate any information or ideas!

Honored Contributor

You can certainly practice yoga on your own, but I suggest especially because you have physical limitations to seek out a good yoga teacher who knows how to work with people who have limitations. I hurt my back at yoga and was down for 3 weeks and never went back to a serious practice. I personally get more out of the meditation practice of yoga than the physical. I did Hatha Yoga.

Trusted Contributor

I agree with @blackhole99 about taking some classes.  I would recommend at least going through a beginner series to learn the nuances of the poses.  A good Yoga teacher will also offer modifications to suit any limitations you may have.  Best of luck to you!  😊

"Great minds discuss ideas; average minds discuss events; small minds discuss people."--Eleanor Roosevelt
Honored Contributor

I am 66 and practiced Yoga for many years.  About 6 years ago I switched to hot yoga. (Bikram)  I was the oldest regular.  I loved it and it made me feel (and look) good.  The past 18 months I've had a lot of health problems so have been forced to suspend my participation.

If you have back problems, please consult your doctor first.  It would also be wise to take a few beginner's classes before you try it on your own.

Super Contributor

I have practiced yoga a good part of my life.

The best teacher I had always ... always stessed to make sure

in poses we put knee over ankle in all bending poses....never

hyper-extended....

Esteemed Contributor