Respected Contributor

Cinnamon Supplements & Blood Sugar

For the first time in my life, my recent blood test showed elevated triglycerides.

Danger sign for elevated blood sugar.

Both of my parents, late in life, developed Type 2 diabetes.

I am a plant-based eater and have not consumed desserts, sweets, chocolates, even fruit juices for a long time. However, I am a researcher. So I wanted to see what I could do to reduce my triglyceride levels (other than a prescription).

Two things: Exercise. Cinnamon (bark) supplements.

A few new studies support the cinnamon supplements.

But it's a challenge to find the BEST supplements.

I bought Andrew Lexman's Cinnamon 400, but research shows that 400 mg isn't enough and he doesn't suggest an amount—though studies show at least 1 gram needed.

Checked reviews (best ofs). So many choices. Ceylon type considered the best, in general.

Finally found one that is consistently highly reviewed, reasonable price. No fillers.

NutriFlair Organic Ceylon Cinnamon (100% Certified Organic Ceylon Cinnamon) 1200mg per Serving.

Screen Shot 2022-11-22 at 8.34.37 AM.png

My doctors (large medical organization) do not name/recommend specific supplements; for a variety of reasons, I suspect.

However, I'm hoping some of YOU have experience you might share.

I'm sure there are other supplements with high reviews.

(The Andrew Lessman I have just doesn't work with the research, though I love his other supplements)

Respected Contributor

Re: Cinnamon Supplements & Blood Sugar

Added:

I only mentioned exercise & cinnamon from the list of how to reduce triglycerides, because I don't fit the other interventions (I am slender, don't smoke/drink).

Honored Contributor

I have been taking Ceylon cinnamon capsules for several years. Figure it could not hurt. I do not eat  alot of sugar, but try to take supplements that will help to control it as I age. If it helps with triglycerides too that is a good thing.

Respected Contributor