Respected Contributor

Re: Breast cancer mammograms and insurance cost and coding?

@Carmie- coding is extremely complicated, as are differing insurance "rules".  To become certified is very difficult and requires continuous continuing education as the rules change constantly. The terminology is unique.

Anyone who is not a coder cannot begin to understand - I have a hard time explaining what I did for a living for 20 years - even highly educated people don't get all what is involved.  New coders straight out of school have a hard time.  People who think they know coding are the most dangerous.  If I had a penny for every time a patient told me their insurance said we coded it wrong, I would be rich.  I would say 90 - 95% of the time it is coded correctly.  We had at least 2 coders review it.  At least that's the standard we were held to and we were tested on our accuracy on a regular basis.

The nurses always thought they could code things and they were so wrong so often it wasn't funny.  It's not something you can't begin to teach someone overnight.  There are so many that don't pass the certification test, that they give you a second chance free!

We cannot base our codes on what might be beneficial for the patient - IT IS FRAUD.  Or, on how someone who is not a coder thinks it should be or tries to interpret a coding  guideline. Or tries to get a provider to change their dictation. Again, this is considered fraud by the government. 

There are about 10,000 CPT codes and 76,000 ICD10 codes.  There are tons of things to take into consideration before coming up with the correct codes.  It gets crazy.  No one realizes how hard we fight to get a claim paid for the patient - we are their advocates.  Insurances are paying less and less on their claims as well as not covering services they have in the past.  I feel sorry for some of them because they are paying outrageous amounts for their insurance premium.  Plus, I have experienced this first hand.