Esteemed Contributor

Re: Anyone have GENWORTH long term ins?

DH and I have had LTC insurance with a major insurance company since I was 59 (19 yrs) and over the years we've had two major increases ( mine is around 3k annually and DHs is less; he's 7 years younger but crappy health history ( bet BCBS has paid out well over 1 million dollars in last 35 years).  I probably will keep our coverage ( 3 yrs nursing care either in home or in a facility) if at all possible.  Both my parents required over 10 years each of 24/7/365 care ( they self insured).  Bottom line: if you need it you couldn't possibly afford it for long on your own. That's why I have NO sympathy for those who try to beat the system by transferring title to family home so the rest of us pay their freight.

Valued Contributor

[ Edited ]

@granddi I work in the insurance field.  Long term care (LTC) insurance premiums are increasing due to the high cost of long term care services and, in part, because the industry under priced the policies at the onset.  Most life insurance policies are terminated by the policy owner well before they pay a death benefit.  The industry, when pricing LTC insurance, thought that policy owners would do the same with LTC policies but that is not the case.  Those lucky enough to get long term care insurance are hanging onto the coverage.  In today's insurance marketplace, you cannot purchase a policy with benefits that resemble those originally available.

The options outlined in the letter you received from Genworth are not your only options.  (In fact, those options are likely poor choices.)  You can adjust your coverage to keep your premium relatively the same.  If you have an inflation rider in your LTC policy, the letter you received from Genworth likely offers you a Stable Premium Option.  In my opinion, this is not a good solution as it will take your inflation protection down to 1%, which is never going to keep up with the rising cost of long term care services.