Respected Contributor

Re: Another bad experience with blood work

@millieshops wrote:

I can't remember ever having my blood work done in the PCP's office.  I always take a script to Quest or Lab Corp.  I don't think having it done in his office is even an option, but if it were, like you, I'd still ask for a script.  I don't even trust their blood pressure readings and neither does the doctor himself.  Figure that one out!

Speaking of doctors, my internist tried drawing blood from my hand and injured a nerve!

Valued Contributor

Back in the day, I was a nurse at a major university teaching hospital.  We had an excellent IV team, who would round on each patient at least twice a shift.  We also had a team of phlebotomists who did our blood draws.  At that time, only RN's were allowed to flush an IV or hang IV fluids.

Then came the "we're working smarter, not harder" mantra.  That meant we, as nurses, had to learn to place IVs and draw blood.  The specialty unit I worked on was always the first to do these things.  I became proficient at both tasks.

A year or so later, the nurses aids were also assigned the blood draw task.

I was in the ER twice between Sept and Oct of this year.  Nurses aids place IVs now.  I'm amazed at how much has changed since I worked on the floor.

As for the doctor's office, I haven't had my bloodwork drawn at an outside facility in forever.  There is always someone in the office who does it.

I don't even think my PCP's office has 1 RN working there.  Everyone seems to be a Medical Assistant.

Honored Contributor

I've had a lot of blood drawn for 20 years, after being diagnosed with Pulmonary Sarcoidosis 20 years ago and being diagnosed with Diabetes 8 years ago.  I was part of Kaiser at that time and never had a bad or clumsy draw. 

They'd line up those little bottles after inserting the needle and off they'd go.  I never felt a thing.   Once in awhile I'd get a pinch from someone but basically they knew what they