Honored Contributor

Re: 82 yr old mother and dementia/very violent...

Now i am not saying this applies to anyone posting here but as a nurse I can tell you that there are families that would rather care for someone at home than put them in a facility because they don't want to spend their inheritance keeping grandpa in a home. IMO - anyone who does this gets what they deserve. This is also why often siblings don't want to put the elderly parent in a home - they aren't the one caring for him so why spend all his money is the mindset.

Trusted Contributor

This thread has just hung with me since it posted. Such a very, very difficult situation for any family.

For me though, if someone asks me if I have a fear of anything at all in life....my answer is ALWAYS "getting old". I do NOT want to live to ripe old age of X. I do NOT want to be this kind of burden to anyone. Not on my family, not on society. There is no 'quality of life' left when dementia sets in.

My mother had Alzheimer's (but passed away from sudden heart attack before it got too bad). Her sister is now in the final stages. Recently found out another one of her brothers and another sister just diagnosed Alz.

That is 4 out of 7 of my mothers side of my genetic family with Alzheimers.

Scariest thought that is always with me, now that I am 60.

Respected Contributor

On 12/22/2014 gabstoomuch said:

This thread has just hung with me since it posted. Such a very, very difficult situation for any family.

For me though, if someone asks me if I have a fear of anything at all in life....my answer is ALWAYS "getting old". I do NOT want to live to ripe old age of X. I do NOT want to be this kind of burden to anyone. Not on my family, not on society. There is no 'quality of life' left when dementia sets in.