Trusted Contributor

Hi all!

I already bought plane tickets to Portland, OR in June to attend my graduation for a Master's degree. Can't wait! I went to Portland once on a girls' road trip, and we had a blast, but that was about 15 years ago. We did go to the Japanese garden (gorgeous!) and on the Shanghai Tour. The Shanghai Tour was featured on NatGeo or Discovery channel, and I highly recommend it, if it's still around. Dark part of our history that needs to be preserved, especially since human trafficking may be even greater than it was before. 

We're probably going to do Airbnb for cost and because there is a big homeless problem in the city. I'll be with my son and want to stay safe. I think it'll be better to stay in the neighborhoods. I've never done it before, but my classmate recommended it and said that she rents out her house through them when she doesn't have renters.

Does anyone have any recommendations of activities besides visiting Powell's Books (already on the list)? We'll have a few days there. We like history and seeing new things.

Thanks for any help!

Valued Contributor

When I stayed at airbnb/Portland, I rented listing F138.  It was right outside of Portland and the host was very nice. 

Highlighted
Trusted Contributor

@Beauty$Junkie wrote:

When I stayed at airbnb/Portland, I rented listing F138.  It was right outside of Portland and the host was very nice. 

@Beauty$Junkie  Thank you for the recommendation!

Honored Contributor

We're going to Portland, OR next week to take a cruise on the Columbia River.  Haven't been to Portland since the weekend the light rail opened so I'm open to any suggestions/must sees in the area.  TIA!

Valued Contributor

If you go to airbnb and search Portland OR Homes, F138 is the first one to come up.  It was exactly as pictured and the best price we could find so close to Portland.  Congrats on your degree.

Trusted Contributor