Valued Contributor

I would LOVE to have a robot vacuum....

Always wanted one to help with all the dog hair. It would be nice to have it do the job while I'm at work. I just can't justify spending that much money. Believe me, if I could, I'd buy it in a heart beat!!   *sigh....

Valued Contributor

Re: I would LOVE to have a robot vacuum....

I have a roomba and I will tell you it's worth
every penny.
The very good thing about it is that you can
replace every part in it. I've bought new brushes, filters,  and last week  a new battery. Not expensive items and no charge for someone to fix it. It actually pays for itself in the savings when you can replace parts so easily.

That's how we roll in the shire..
Valued Contributor

I know what you mean, although the Dyson (which I own) is pretty pricey too and I have to push it around!  I was thinking that my dachshund Winston would be barking at the Roomba for the entire day! 

Trusted Contributor

@CritterKeeper  - as the Boar's Head ad says "Compromise elsewhere".  I've had one of these for several years and they are well worth the money.  I am single with no pets, and the dirt these pick up is amazing.

Honored Contributor

Has anyone vacuumed over the same area with a vacuum cleaner to see how well robots pick up the dirt?

It appears to me similar to one of those old push type Bissells, the bristles pushing surface dirt into the pan.  

Is there any suction that pulls up the dirt in robots? 

Respected Contributor

I waited for years to buy one thinking how good could it really be?

I was wrong.  Its a great little machine.  Its wonderful on hard wood floors and carpeting.  The only place it doesnt do very well is one area rug that I have that has very low pile.  Thats it.  It does a great job on my wall to wall in the living room and dining room and all the hardwood floors in the bedrooms.  Its magic under the bed!!!!  I love it.

Respected Contributor