Valued Contributor

Re: Dooney's TSV 10/27

[ Edited ]

@annespan wrote:

I have been oogling this since it appeared here but I can't make a call from the pix.  Naturally I am leaning towards the grey satchel  but I have more grey handbags than sense lol so I have my eye on the bourdeaux as well.  Looking forward to the show this afternoon.

Question for you Florentine fans if I may?  I only own one Florentine xbody so I am no expert but this model seems kindy of shiny.  Am I seeing things or is that usual of larger Florentine bags "in person"?

@annespan This Florentine is new: it's treated to be water resistant, so, no, it's not usual of Florentine. I have several Florentine bags, they will spot in rain, scratch easily, but can be "buffed out" with a finger (oils in your skin) I'm intrigued by this treated Florentine, although, it will not patina (darken over time) like "normal Florentine"...so I'm on the fence

Respected Contributor

Not for me; too structured in both styles.  Also, the satchel is a little too big for me, and the crossbody zipper opening seems too short to get things in and out easily.  Pass!

Valued Contributor

[ Edited ]

The satchel is right up my alley, although, I see on the Dooney site, that there is another satchel similar to the Zip Zip style...more up my alley. I'm intrigued by the treatment on the leather, as I'm not a gal who won't take my Florentines out in adverse weather. I'm in NY..it's always adverse weather..lol

I may bite on the satchel, I'm a satchel girl; however, I feel like Goldilocks looking at Dooneys...but I have not found the "just right" yet. 

I LOVE the color of the grey bag, but absolutely will not buy a bag that color with gold hardware..bleck! Makes the bag look cheap. To me, it must have the palladium hardware of the Toscana line for that color. This gets annoying, because I wear mostly grey and want a grey bag. Grey is out.