Honored Contributor
Accepted Solution

❔ About TSV (10/5) Amazon Echo ❔

Can you use the Echo and/or does it work if you do not have an Amazon account?

I did a Google search & could not find a very clear answer.  One site stated that you need an Amazon acct to register Echo.  That's it.

Also checked the Q website.  No mention either way.  Not even in the "Important Info" section.

Been listening to Rick & the vendor for 45 minutes & not one word if you need an Amazon acct or not. 

"Never argue with a fool. Onlookers may not be able to tell the difference."

220-AuCC-US-CRM-Header-Update.gif

Valued Contributor

Re: ❔ About TSV (10/5) Amazon Echo ❔

I don't know if this is true, but can these devices listen in? I read an article about smart TV being capable. I am not a techie person, but I just wonder.

Respected Contributor

I still do not understand what this is and how it works. Do you connect it to the computer it IS it a computer? How does it play my CDs? If I orally tell it to put something on a grocery list, how do I get the list OUT of it? Nothing is explained in the presentations. They talk around all the most basic questions! 

Honored Contributor

It is not a computer; it's a Bluetooth speaker with a voice recognition system.  You wouldn't need an Amazon Prime account but you would need the ordinary free account a customer would use to make a purchase.  You have to download the Echo app from Amazon to set it up.  It plays music from what you've got loaded on your pad or computer.  Regarding the grocery list, I've never used that but I'd probably have it recite the list while I wrote it.  It may be retrievable on your computer or pad and could be printed.  I don't have a printer.

I don't use mine to its full capability.  I use it mostly to check the weather, temperature and to get miscellaneous information like the distance between two cities.  Also use the timer.

The speaker is excellent quality, comparable to a Bose radio.