Respected Contributor

For those that grew up in the 60s, I would like to ask if you find the show accurate in its portrayal of sexuality during this era in the US. I was born in the 80s and find it surprising that the show seems to emphasize how both women and men were more open to engaging in relationships with married people etc. without much guilt. I just began watching the show and find it fascinating!

At least for me growing up it was not the case so I find it rather eye opening. TIA!!  I'm not criticizing or being judgemental. I'm a researcher so I'm naturally interested in hearing from real people from that time since it's not my area. Many thanks.

~Live with Intention~
Honored Contributor

I am sure you will get an earfull from a lot of women of that era, me included.

There were NO ......uh "personal" harassment laws, and men could get away with just about anything in the office.    Trapping you in an elevator......pushing the emergency stop, and shutting the lights off............cornering you in a stairwell..........and the list goes on.   

It's ONE of the reasons I became a feminist.....or in those days, "Women's Libber"..................

♥Surface of the Sun♥
Respected Contributor

@Desertdi wrote:

There were NO ......uh "personal" harassment laws, and men could get away with just about anything in the office.    Trapping you in an elevator......pushing the emergency stop, and shutting the lights off............cornering you in a stairwell..........and the list goes on.   

It's ONE of the reasons I became a feminist.....or in those days, "Women's Libber"..................