Respected Contributor

Re: ELVIS PRESLEY January 8, 1935 - August 16, 1977

[ Edited ]

I too am an Elvis fan. I still love him today.  My mom is a huge fan and passed it on to me! I had my children listen to Elvis songs so they would know his music. They were both 80's kids, and appreciate his music.

My favorite song  of his is The Wonder of You.  When my son was a little guy he'd sing it as The Wonderful You. 

I was at a hotel in Orlando when I heard the news. I was crying my eyes out with my Grandma and my little brother. 
I was 15.

Honored Contributor

I've been thinking about him all morning.  Wondering if I were the only one.

I vaguely remember that day.  I was a pharmacy tech way back then.  I came back from lunch and one of the pharmacists told me that he had died. We were all in shock.  I remember us not really believing it, initially, like it was something that just could not have happened.

I wish I had gotten to see him in concert.  When I think of him singing, one of the things I think of is the '69 Comeback Special.  I have a pic of him in that black leather outfit on the wall in my bdrm.   

Around 18 years ago I visited my father who had moved to N AL and he asked about places I wanted to see around there and I mentioned Graceland.  He took me and his wife and we did the entire tour.   (they had different tours that were just parts - I wanted to see all of it)

I'm so glad I got to go to Graceland.   The graves were there, off to the right where you are looking at the front of the house.  I remember taking a LOT of pics.  I should find those.  I haven't looked at them in a long time.

RIP

Honored Contributor

We visited Graceland on this day in 1997, place was packed in memory of his death. Graceland is defiinitely a tour worth taking. 

Honored Contributor