Honored Contributor

I kept nodding off the last 20 minutes so I have to watch that again this morning, but overall, I really didn't care for it.  I'm going to watch the last 20 minutes again, watch again next week and if I don't enjoy it more, that's it.

For those who watched, what did you think?

Why is it, when I have a 50/50 guess at something, I'm always 100% wrong?
Esteemed Contributor

Re: Big Little Lies- opinions?

[ Edited ]

Despite great acting, I was a little disappointed, too. I will probably watch at least the next episode to see if it gets better.

Respected Contributor

I was surprised that I liked it.  I thought Reese's acting was really good.  I work as a teacher and all of this looks so familiar to me.  Unfortunately,  I just don't care for Nicole Kidman in it.  She just looks so spacey and disconnected in her role.   

Honored Contributor

I only watched the first 40 minutes-was too tired to watch the rest.........I liked it, but I am not sure I will continue, I like the cast, just not sure but I probably will. I did not read the book first, so may not read it now......  

Honored Contributor

I liked it, like the actresses and the story held my interest. Will watch it again. Never read the book.

"This isn't a Wednesday night, this is New Year's Eve"
Trusted Contributor

I agree with those that say they were a little disappointed with it.

It wasn't so much the plotline itself, or the acting that gave me a problem.  I started to realize about half way in, that I was having trouble following the cutting from scene to scene...it just seemed so abrupt and choppy.  I guess that's done to make it more arty or edgy or suspenseful, but for me, it just gives me a headache.  I'm having trouble with my eyes, so all that bopping back and forth is annoying. 

Sooo, I guess it's just the editing that's a problem for me, and getting too old to appreciate modern day pacing, I suppose.