Super Contributor

Re: 40th Anniversary of Luke and Laura's Wedding

I was a freshman in college.  Everyone watched in the TV lounge.  Someone ordered a cake and we all celebrated.  I can't believe it has been 40 years.  

Super Contributor

@PickyPicky3 wrote:

I remember that day so well. I was an adjunct teaching three sections of remedial writing at a college. NONE of my students showed up for class!

Where were you?

so funny 😂! Were you one of my teachers? I was watching the wedding in the student center! 

Respected Contributor

I've never really watched soap operas at all, so i probably wouldn't have watched it anyway, but on whatever day that was, I'd have been at work.

Esteemed Contributor

I had just turned 21 years old.  Unfortunately I did watch it in a hospital setting as my dad was very ill at the time Smiley Sad    It was an uplifting experience though, almost like a royal wedding!  Amazing it's been 40 years.

Respected Contributor

I was in high school so I don't think I saw it live? But the rape  was always weird to me. Plus wasn't she underage? And he was like double her age?

But when I got to college, the student center used to be packed at noon to watch "All my Chldren" People would cut through just to watch for a few minutes on their way to class. 

Respected Contributor

@Love my grandkidsI always found this story bothersome as a rapist married his victim."

Later on the storyline changed to Luke seducing Laura.  The rape was downplayed.

Honored Contributor

@lgfan Gee why doesn't that surprise me. They decided to make them a romantic couple so they brushed aside the rape and called it something more acceptable. I quit watching after that. Plus I thought her headpiece was ridiculous!

Trusted Contributor

@scatcat wrote:

I was in high school so I don't think I saw it live? But the rape  was always weird to me. Plus wasn't she underage? And he was like double her age?