Honored Contributor

Re: Would you please ask the female hosts to stop saying "I'm not good at math...."

@YorkieonmyPillow wrote:

Ridiculous. A lot of people aren't good at math.

What, a person can't admit they suck at math because of their gender? That's just bizarre.........

I suck at math and I don't care who knows it. I am great at many other subjects but math was never my thing.

Honored Contributor

Re: Would you please ask the female hosts to stop saying "I'm not good at math...."

@orshopper wrote:

Only the female hosts say this and it perpetuates the stereotype that girls are not good at math.  Since this is International Womens Day this is my request to QVC.

THanks for your consideration.  Diane

I think Dan Hughes has said the same cutesy annoying thing, and yes it's time to stop. 

If they aren't sure of the amount just ask the control room to tell them or even do the math before coming on air,

Trusted Contributor

I have to agree with you!  Every time I hear a host say this, I cringe.  It isn't funny or cute. 

Respected Contributor

They say this when they do not want to take the time from their presentation to do the math.  This is not difficult math adding and subtracting.  We are not expecting them to do an algebra calculation!  Geez figuring out how much to save on buy more, save more, or figuring out payments is easy math.  I don't think it is a female thing, its just that most hosts on the Q are female!  

Honored Contributor

I'm not good at math and perfectly happy to admit it.   I can't be good at everything.  It doesn't bother me in the least if anyone - male or female - says that.  I don't think it perpetuates anything.  I think the OP is taking PC to the extreme.  A fact is a fact. 

Respected Contributor