Occasional Contributor

Would you please ask the female hosts to stop saying "I'm not good at math...."

Only the female hosts say this and it perpetuates the steriotype that girls are not good at math.  Since this is International Womens Day this is my request to QVC.

THanks for your consideration.  Diane

Honored Contributor

Re: Would you please ask the female hosts to stop saying "I'm not good at math...."

Oh, no! It's "math is hard" Barbie again!

I don't watch very often and haven't noticed this. Thank you for speaking up. I work in a high-tech company and it's so important that we get more girls and women involved in STEM. There are a lot of women in middle management, planning, customer facing, and support roles, but the engineers who design the chips and get their names on the patents are mostly men.

It may seem like it's not a big deal, but words matter and it makes a difference.

Trusted Contributor

Re: Would you please ask the female hosts to stop saying "I'm not good at math...."

Your observation is so true. It is not adorable, cute, or a characteristic with which to identify.  I wish they would simply not make the statement; after all, they are usually talking about basic arithmetic.  Other statements that should be eliminated involve describing "body problems" continuorsly or suggesting that viewers should feel the same: e.g. "I don't like my thighs." "I don't like my hips."  

Trusted Contributor

Math is and always has been my best subject. Scored 100% on all my "regents" in high school. Perhaps the hosts who say they're not good at math just aren't. 

Earth science however......... Not good. :'( :'( 

Respected Contributor

[ Edited ]

@orshopper I watch QVC a lot and I can't recall hearing that from the female hosts.  Maybe they are not good at math.  I'm not ... I'll admit it.  I'm not sure what it has to do with IWD.

Honored Contributor

Yeah, it bugs me too!  Good point. 

Esteemed Contributor