Esteemed Contributor

Re: Purging our order history

The disappearing order history in what looks like random chunks makes me think think that QVC has a corrupted database that they cannot fix as this issue has been going on for at least 4 or 5 years.

Honored Contributor

[ Edited ]

@1MrsT wrote:

I understand that with system updates or changes, you can lose older data. I understand choices need to be made on what's important to you as a company. But maybe there could be more thought into what's important to your customers, too?

I've been shopping with QVC since 1989. Having easy access to my old orders would be helpful for things like insurance claims or knowing what size bracelet I ordered as a gift, for example. 

The fact that my order history only goes back to 2007 is annoying...but what really has me scratching my head is why are orders from as recent as 2016 missing? 

First I thought orders for things no longer available was the reason things disappeared, but no...there are plenty items  that are no longer still showing up in my available order history. So I'm at a loss to figure out why some order histories stay and why others are purged from my records. Besides which, whether an item is no longer available or not, the information is still helpful to have it available to access. 

Anyway, I just thought I'd give my two cents for hoping that QVC could make these deleted records available again. And if I've overlooked an obvious way to see these deleted records, I apologize. 

Thank you!

Having decades of order history is exactly the reason why random records or months/years disappear and others don't.  It's how systems work when they are overloaded.  Few systems can be changed/upgraded to easily contain that much data.  

You can choose to have your purchase history for 20 years or have a system that runs well in other areas.  Most systems can't do both when holding 20 years of data for millions of people.