Honored Contributor

Re: Jewelry hosts and rulers

@docsgirl 

Your comments are very unkind and NOT necessary. 

This thread is discussing the use of measurements.....NOT personal attire choices.

Why do people find it necessary to insert digs into every conversation about a host?

Honored Contributor

@docsgirl wrote:

@rms1954 wrote:

@docsgirl wrote:

How pitiful that an adult does not know the difference between inches and centimeters.  I am a retired teacher.  I still work, taking on long term positions in our schools.  I just finished a tutoring position in grades 3 and 4.  My 3rd graders were learning inches and centimenters.  They used their rulers to measure various items around the classroom. During a lesson on our SmartBoard, we were measuiring shapes in inches but I used the centimeter side of the ruler (deliberately) and they were quick to correct me.  If 3rd graders are capable of knowing the difference between inches and centimeters there is no excuse for a 40-something person being incapable of having knowledge of the same.  She should have done her homework and brushed up.  Also, why didn't someone inform her of the difference...or does no one else there know either?  Then they complain when customers return items.

A bit off topic, but I don't understand why no one corrects Shawn when she says $25 bill, $35 bill, $40 bill etc.  I tried that on my third graders and they said I was silly because I should know there is no such thing as a $35 bill.  They said that everybody knows the 'monetary denominations.'  Out of the mouths of third graders.

A bit excessive as I think we all know, including Shawn, there are no 25, 35, or 40 dollar bills.  As your third graders said "everybody knows the monetary denominations."