Esteemed Contributor

Do orthotic inserts help?

[ Edited ]

I need to wear shoes with some kind of support inside if I am on my feet all day. I have a few pairs of cute flats thet have no suppport.

I was wondering if buying some kind of insert would allow me to wear them again. Do those gel ones work?

Respected Contributor

Re: Do orthotic inserts help?

When I worked in retail I every type of insole I could find trying to make the shoes I have work but it never did.  My advise would be to find a good pair of shoes with enough support. 

Honored Contributor

@Nataliesgramma wrote:

I need to wear shoes with some kind of support inside if I am on my feet all day. I have a few pairs of cute flats thet have no suppport.

I was wondering if buying some kind of insert would allow me to wear them again. Do those gel ones work?

@Nataliesgramma

I wear prescription orthotics every day --- I have to!  I hate them, but they do help.  I can't speak for the orthotics that you buy over the counter.  I hear a lot about Dr. Scholl's -- have you tried them?  I would think that wearing an insole of some type to give support to your shoes would help you feel more comfortable.  A lot of the flats out there --- have no support to them are are too flat, I think.  They are cute but not that great for the feet and legs.  

"A day without sunshine is like, you know, night." - Steve Martin
Respected Contributor

I went to the Good Feet Store .. as I have severe pronation ....they are the best

things .. other than custom made .. I could have gotten ... Yes they are

expensive ...but worth every penny .. plus they are guaranteed for life .

I have had them 12 years now and no sign of wear on them at all ....

Respected Contributor

Actually they may have saved me money as my shoes last longer

now that I am not turning them over with the pronation ....

Regular Contributor