Honored Contributor

Re: Do Birkenstock Footbeds Lose Their Cushion?

Sorry for a slight change of topic, but wondering if anyone else has/had this issue. I want to try Birkenstocks, as I need the footbed (I wear Vionics and Abeos). But in the size 9 (my normal size) the toe grip just hits me in the wrong place and I know it would irritate me/cause blisters. The size 8 just isn't big enough - my toes go over the "lip" of the footbed and I have zero room at the back. Does this mean Birkenstocks just won't work for me? Anyone thing that trying a Narrow would help at all? The Medium seems to be okay, but I'm not a Birkenstock expert.
Life without Mexican food is no life at all
Esteemed Contributor

moonchilde: I wear size 7 wide in all shoes -- but I wear size 37 narrow in Birkenstocks/Birki's as they run WIDE. You probably need a narrow and ur feet will feel more secure. You can always order from zappos.com - free shipping & return. Get the soft footbed.

Esteemed Contributor

On 6/1/2014 moonchilde said: Sorry for a slight change of topic, but wondering if anyone else has/had this issue. I want to try Birkenstocks, as I need the footbed (I wear Vionics and Abeos). But in the size 9 (my normal size) the toe grip just hits me in the wrong place and I know it would irritate me/cause blisters. The size 8 just isn't big enough - my toes go over the "lip" of the footbed and I have zero room at the back. Does this mean Birkenstocks just won't work for me? Anyone thing that trying a Narrow would help at all? The Medium seems to be okay, but I'm not a Birkenstock expert.

This is EXACTLY the problem I have with Birkenstocks. I can't wear them because my big toe appears to be too long for the space allotted for the toe. Going up too the next size just makes the entire shoe too long. I finally gave up. Then I solved the problem by going to Vionic/Orthaheel. No toe bar behind the big toe, so it feels great on my foot. Some feet just aren't made for that Birkenstock footbed.