Highlighted
Honored Contributor

Re: just got my new instant pot

@Kachina624 wrote:

I just got the IP, although I've been using a pressure cooker for over 50 years.  I thumbed through the recipe book and pitched it.  Its a bunch of recipes by chefs calling for exotic ingredients.  I need recipes using things I have on hand.  You can use any PC recipe, and there are thousands online.

I pitched it too!  What a waste of a booklet!

Check out Blue Jean Chef (.com)  Meredith has a LOT of IP recipes.  Pressure cooking is one of her specialties.

She has several books out already.  I purchased one for pressuring cooking from Amazon to my Kindle for only 99 cents.  I have made a LOT of her recipes.

Meredith has a new cookbook coming out soon for easy meals in ANY vessel or method.  The book lists directions for one pot, stove, oven, IP, air fryer etc...or so the promo email said.

Valued Contributor

I've had mine for a few weeks.  I google recipes.  The first thing I made was beef stroganoff, it was great!  Next was spaghetti with meat sauce.  It was good.  Today I have a pork roast in for pulled pork.  Next week I plan on stuffed peppers.

That beef stroganoff was so good.  I'll be making it again soon.

Trusted Contributor

@wagirl Make the Mexican Beef recipe from nomnompaleo.com. It's easy and soooo good. I've also made it with pork. Shred the meat to put in tacos, enchiladas, to top salad - anything! 

One tip: If the IP seems to be leaking steam when it's coming up to pressure, push the lid down until it creates a seal.