Respected Contributor

Question for Bakers on “snowball” cookies...

Hello bakers~so...I'm a much better cook than "baker", but love to give it a go every now and then...always "an adventure." Smiley Happy

I never got to making any Christmas cookies before the holiday, but was determined to at least make the pecan "snowballs" (some people call them Mexican wedding cookies)...today.

Several recipes online, all about the same, so I picked one off Google "Sally's baking addiction" site..

Just took them out, and tasted one...actually delish and they taste like I always remember them.

However...mine didn't remain in balls (like snow balls), but melted and flattened more like a domed cookie. I refridgerated my dough overnight, then let sit at room temp, like recipe said. But, recipe said let set 30 min, and I did 1 hr...feeling like dough still looked too hard. Maybe that was it...I let it get too warm and cookies melted down? Any tips out there for next time?  Like I said...still taste yummy, but the traditional Christmas cookie trays usually look like "snowballs."

TIA for any advice!

Honored Contributor

Re: Question for Bakers on “snowball” cookies...

One of my daughters got hooked on these cookies one year, and made them frequently.   They were never round snowball like cookies, always dome shaped.   

Super Contributor

[ Edited ]

My experience making snowball cookies is they do stay snowball shaped after baking. I haven't made them in a while. Sounds like you compared several recipes and all the ingredients & directions were similar? My only 2cents, is try marthastewart.com and look at her recipe. I always have success with her recipes.

Good for you for baking this holiday season.

P.S. another idea is go to kingarthur.com. Look at their recipe and they have bakers on hand to call and ask your ?s or concerns. 

Highlighted
Honored Contributor