Valued Contributor

Need your help with time for a recipe

Hi All

I was just wondering about converting a recipe from crock pot to stove top or oven. It is small piece of ham, fresh green beans and cut up potatoes. Should I cook everything all together at once? I was going to cook potatoes and green beans in maybe some chicken broth or chicken bouillion, but a little concerned with the salt factor. Think I could cook the beans and potatoes in the broth and then add the ham to just heat thru?

TIA

cookin

Honored Contributor

Re: Need your help with time for a recipe

@cookinfreak - I'm no expert, but I do like to cook!

Here's what I would do: Assuming the piece of ham is cooked, I would boil the potatoes, steam the beans separately, then heat the ham piece in either a 325 degree oven until it's hot, or maybe a microwave. Then I would serve it all together! If you want to use the broth, I would use it with the potatoes. Of course they will probably be what you want to get ready to cook first.  Smiley Happy

Honored Contributor

I would put the ham and green beans together.  It would seem that adding bullion would be terribly salty.  II'd add a splash of white wine and add the cut up potatoes an hour or so before finishing.

At 5:30 pm, it's too late for a crock pot.  Was this for tomorrow?

Also we use Goya Pork seasoning for greens and green beans.  Much fresher taste.

Valued Contributor

@ECBG 

I have the crock pot directions, I am looking to convert it to the stove or oven for dinner. I appreciate the ideas. I think I will dice up the ham and that way I'll be able to get everything heated up quickly. 

Thanks to both of you!

cookin

Honored Contributor

@cookinfreak wrote:

@ECBG 

I have the crock pot directions, I am looking to convert it to the stove or oven for dinner. I appreciate the ideas. I think I will dice up the ham and that way I'll be able to get everything heated up quickly. 

Thanks to both of you!

cookin

@cookinfreak