Valued Contributor

Help with Gluten Free Cooking

Hi friends, I am assigned bringing a gluten free dessert to a gathering next week. I have no experience with this.
My first idea was making apple crisp; would I just substitute for the flour in the crumb topping? Is the flour the only problem in a recipe? Can anyone help? TIA
Honored Contributor

Re: Help with Gluten Free Cooking

@HB glamma Why did you get stuck with the gluten free dish when you are NOT gluten free?

IMO this should have been "assigned" to someone who actually IS gluten free and knows how to cook that way. Sheesh.

Honored Contributor

[ Edited ]

I have been gluten free for about 35 years.  It's not difficult to make gluten free desserts.

Homemade Rice pudding is a great dessert.

You Can buy gluten free cookies and crush them up and make a crumb pie crust for lemon meringue, chocolate silk or coconut cream pie or even cheese cake.  A Banana split cake is super easy...no baking.  Just substitute gluten free cookie crumbs for graham crackers.  This dessert is always a big hit.

You can make gluten free apple crisp with Gluten Free Bisquick.  There are gluten free cake and brownie mixes in the baking section.

Flourless chocolate cake has been around for years...

There are lots of recipes on line.

Gluten is in wheat, rye and barley so avoid those ingredients.

Valued Contributor

Hi @HB glamma , I've made a gluten free Apple crisp for my nephew using gluten free flour and gf oats in the topping,  My gluten free kitchen has some good recipes to browse. 

Super Contributor

King Arthur has a good Gluten-Free Flour.   If you'd rather do something much easier, you could even use one of their cake mixes.  I find King Arthur gf products to be excellent.  Here is a link to the King Arthur Gluten Free recipe page: https://www.kingarthurflour.com/search?query=gluten-free%20recipes

Honored Contributor

@Love my grandkids wrote: