Esteemed Contributor

Re: Has anyone made Mary Berry's "OPERA CAKE?"

@Poodlepet2 wrote:

Hi @sfnative! I love that show! DH doesn't like cooking shows, but we watch that one.

I am a decent home baker, but I am so intimidated by Mary's exacting judgment, and the contestants skill, I am absolutely too intimidated to try anything from that show.

I have done some piping once: suffice it to say, message to our local bakers? Don't worry about competition from me!

Poodlepet2

@Poodlepet2

I just love that show, too!  So much to learn, isn't there?  I'm a very critical person when it comes to myself.  I've been known to walk to the trash bin, if whatever and for some reason simply failed.  Because my mother was a lousy cook and baker, I set about teaching myself, once I left home and then got married.  Frankly, learned most of my technique from the Galloping Gourmet, Graham Kerr, and also Julia Child.  That's about all there was available in the 60s and early 70s.  Then as more books were published, I joined that cooking book club and started purchasing books, reading, then baking and cooking.  At the same time, I'd go out and purchase baking pans and kitchen tools.  For the longest time, I was using a Hamilton Beach hand held mixer that was a wedding gift (still have it and use it after 48 years).  In 1979, my husband drove me to an appliance store south of Market Street in San Francisco and we purchased my first Kitchen Aid stand mixer;  In '82, my first Cuisinart Food Processor.  Every time I purchased a new baking pan or tartlette pans, my husband would say, "You need MORE pans?"  He thinks that one 8", one 9" and one 10" will do it for every recipe I have.  Ha!

Since I competed musically for over 30 years, there isn't much that intimidates me any longer.  Plus, I also owned a small industrial bakery for 8 years, which isn't for everyone.  It eats up your life.  I had 1/2 day off on Tuesdays (!)