Honored Contributor

Where do most of you buy your dried herbs and spices; dollar store, grocery store, big box store, bulk foods store, online spice store? I've been buying mine in pouches from Penzey's for several years and refill my jars as needed.  I do an overhaul (pitch & replace) every three years since that's usually how long they stay good.  I usually buy the pouches rather than the small jars because it seems to be the best value overall.  Even so, there's still some left to toss after three years.  I'll be ready to do this again in January and other than being more discerning about the quantities I choose, I am wondering if there's a better way to go.

Honored Contributor

The grocery store. I don't plan far enough ahead to go to a separate spice store or order online. We have a Penzey's in town, but it's 20 minutes out of my way and that's just not worth it to me.

Valued Contributor

Re: Buying Herbs and Spices

[ Edited ]

Penzeys. I cook a lot and use a lot of spices etc, so they turn over quickly. My local Penzeys us about 40 minutes from my house, but it is near other fun places to visit.

Honored Contributor

Re: Buying Herbs and Spices

[ Edited ]

We don't have a Penzey's so I have to order online. I buy the bags of spices from them to refill my jars. 

I also buy Simply Organic & Frontier Coop Spices online also organic. I don't care for the plastic flimsy flip top cap on the Frontier jars it always breaks.

Honored Contributor

The Spice House!!!

I order almost all my spices from them online since they only have couple stores in IL and WI.  They are very easy to find online as it is the above typed all together  just followed by .com

The company is run by the elder Penzey's daughter!  Fabulous variety, fast shipping, excellent quality!  LOVE that company!  The website has a great amount of recipes and info.