Honored Contributor

I just use the recipe on the box (Betty Crocker or Pillsbury).

Frequent Contributor

I am a big fan of Betty Crocker Fudge Brownie Mix but will also buy Duncan Hines and Pillsbury; whatever is on sale. 

The last two times I have made brownies I have added 1 level tablespoon of Hershey's Baking Cocoa with great results, it seems to deepen the flavor.  I add a handful of chopped  walnuts, also.

I have a Wearever 9x13 pan (shiny, no coating) that I have been using for brownies for over forty years.  I spray the bottom and the sides slightly, even though directions say not to, with canola oil spray.  If you have a dark or coated pan adjust your baking time to less per directions on box.  Bake for the minimum amount of time and check with a toothpick inserted 2 inches from side of pan.  

As an FYI, I have always had electric ovens and do not know if a gas oven would make a difference.

Honored Contributor

I came across this recipe a couple of years ago and it is always received with rave reviews.  Normally I don't even like brownies, but I do like these:

Bombshell Brownies

3 c granulated sugar

1 c melted butter

1 T vanilla extract

4 eggs

1 1/2 c all purpose flour

1 c cocoa powder

1 t salt

1 c semi-sweet chocolate morsels

Preheat oven to 350°

Lightly grease two 8" pans.

Stir together sugar, melted butter and vanilla in a large bowl.

Beat in eggs, one at a time until thoroughly blended.

Whisk together flour, cocoa powder, and salt in a bowl.

Gradually stir the flour mixture into the egg mixture until combined.

Stir in chocolate morsels.

Divide batter between two dishes.

Bake 30-35 minutes.

Cool completely before cutting.

~ house cat ~
Respected Contributor