Super Contributor

Advice, please re "golden brown"

For some reason, I am unable to pan fry bite-size pieces of boneless chicken breast to "golden brown" without over-cooking them.  It's stupid, I know, and I've been cooking for 60 years!!   I'm following a recipe for Bourbon Chicken with Broccoli that calls for pan frying the bite-size chicken pieces in coconut oil.  The sauce is so delicious, but the chicken pieces are always tough.  Anyone have any tips?

Honored Contributor

Re: Advice, please re "golden brown"

Boil the chicken breast first should help tenderize.

"Never argue with a fool. Onlookers may not be able to tell the difference."

220-AuCC-US-CRM-Header-Update.gif

Honored Contributor

Pound the chicken, it will break up the tough fibers, it really does make a difference

Stop being afraid of what could go wrong and start being positive what could go right.
Respected Contributor

Cook the pieces for less time until they are lightly browned. It will still be good.  Or cook the whole piece of breast first, then cut into bite size pieces.  

Honored Contributor

@zanna , Google using baking soda as a meat tenderizer.  Soaking in a baking soda and water solution changes the chemistry of the meat. Google to find out amounts for your particular cut of meat, good luck.

" You are entitled to your opinion. But you are not entitled to your own facts."
Daniel Patrick Moynihan
Esteemed Contributor

I'm cooking pieces of chicken  - Fajita - w/veggies for dinner.  I sear chicken like I do a steak - turn heat up and sear the outside to golden and then back off heat to Medium for cooking through-out.  Remove meat when done - over cooking will make it dry and tough.

Good Luck

Butter adds that golden touch - some oil - some butter.

Respected Contributor

[ Edited ]

@fthunt wrote: