Honored Contributor

Food art idea edible egg pigs

i know I have been threatening Spring for two months but this time I mean it!  As it is also the month for those that plan Easter celebrations, please share your favorite Spring and/or Easter recipes with us!

HOW TO PLAY.......

The first player of the month starts the game by posting their choice of recipe.  At the end of the text, she or he types, "the next ingredient: xxx."

(The x's represent that person's choice of any ingredient that can be included in a recipe).  

Throughout the game, the next poster in line must use the ingredient that the person ahead chose.  If you can, highlight the ingredient and/or put it in capital letters anywhere that it is used throughout the recipe.  That does make it easier for everyone to see how the game works.

Because of time or system delays, some duplicate posts occur to the same ingredient.  The next poster generally responds to the first post for the next ingredient.  Good recipes and lots of fun!!

Normally, we start out with a recipe so I will post the last one shared on the last thread and we can take it from there.  Thanks to @Zhills  who gave us our next ingredient:

PICADILLO RECIPE

Cuisine: Cuban

INGREDIENTS

• 3 Tbsp olive oil
  • 1 small onion, diced
  • ½ green bell pepper, diced
  • 2 cloves fresh garlic, pressed
  • 1 ½ lbs. Ground beef (I have substituted ground turkey and it’s still awesome)
  • 1 tsp. Salt
  • ½ tsp. Pepper
  • 1 envelope Sazón (Goya Brand)
  • 1 can (8 oz) tomato sauce
  • 1 small can tomato paste
  • ¼ cup dry white wine (the cheaper, the better!)
  • 4 Tbsp. Pimiento-stuffed green olives, sliced
  • 1 small box of dark raisins (snack size)
  • ½ tsp. Cumin
  • ½ tsp. Oregano

INSTRUCTIONS

1. Heat the olive oil in a large skillet over medium heat. Saute the onion, green pepper and garlic until the onion is transluscent.
  2. Add the ground beef and brown over medium heat.