Esteemed Contributor

Re: No Cancer Talk to sell products

I admit I have no knowledge of the references cited here. However, if cancer is used as a point of sales,I am saddened. There must be other ways to sell products. I understand that gifts and kind words can help heal, but going after those suffering from a deadly disease to increase sales is just too much,

Honored Contributor

[ Edited ]

Hasn't Doris Dalton mentioned cancer re: losing her brows? She said she needed to "invent" a brow product for herself. Laura Geller has said on air that her friend (who lost brows after cancer) asked her for a waterproof brow  product. 

These selling tactics are shameful. 

Contributor

As someone with stage 4 stomach cancer, it is not at all shameful to mention cancer.  IF they said it would CURE cancer that would be shameful.  I don't understand this "outrage" at all.  

Occasional Contributor

Shawn is guilty of this with ladybugs. So distasteful. Is everything about money,

Honored Contributor

@Shanus wrote:

Hasn't Doris Dalton mentioned cancer re: losing her brows? She said she needed to "invent" a brow product for herself. Laura Geller has said on air that her friend (who lost brows after cancer) asked her for a waterproof brow brow product. 

These selling tactics are shameful. 

Why is it shameful, if it's the truth?  "Necessity is the mother of invention."

If these women found a way to fill a need that occurred because of illness, are they not allowed to talk about it?  And in the same vein, is no one allowed to mention cancer during the two annual shows that support cancer research charities?  Perhaps they should stop doing those shows altogether.

Frequent Contributor