Respected Contributor

Holding our cart items for an hour: Priceless!

The Q holds any item in your cart for an hour + reminds you of that as soon as you place something in the cart.

HSN does not reserve/hold your cart items AT ALL: If you are in the middle of checking out and someone else orders it and completes check out, you lose.

As a univerity professor, I study, among other odd things, neuroscience and how our brains affect our social decisions. Recently studying why we keep making bad decisions. We do. The Q allows for that. During a show, I can throw an item in my cart and enjoy watching the show without panic. (I also teach the Science of Shopping—something students need to understand early in life!)

HSN does, however, let you know how many items are LEFT, when it's down to just a few. With the Q you just have to wonder unless, during the show, the host mentions it.

Retailers spend a lot of research $$ finding ways to reduce our Anticipated Purchase Regrets. How to trigger BUY NOW thinking.

Anyone else experience panic-y online Buying, followed by Regrets, followed by the irritation of Returns

images.jpeg

Esteemed Contributor

Re: Holding our cart items for an hour: Priceless!

..Regrets.........I've had a few  (sound familiar?........... i.e., Frankie S)

I've never put something in my Q cart....for years didn't eve know it was an option.  I see - I place order immediately

Regrets...........ordering based on host talking up a food product....run to computer to order.........then being totally disappointed on quality or taste.

Honored Contributor

Anticipated Purchase Regrets?  Is that what us laymen call "buyer's remorse?"

Respected Contributor

[ Edited ]

@ValuSkr wrote:

@ValuSkr   Great thinking!

There are two types of buyer's remorse that Retailers pay a lot of $$ to study:

• Past Regretted Decisions Remembered

• Future Anticipated Regrets

As to past regretted decisions: again 2 types.

Regretting a purchase.